The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci

I made the mistake of bringing this to read at the airport while I waited for my flight from Newark to Washington, D.C. Mistake because it is a short graphic novel and can be read in twenty minutes and my plane was delayed SEVEN HOURS. And then I was stuck with plainjane.jpgonly one other book, which it turned out I didn’t like. Fortunately, the twenty minutes I spent reading this were very happy indeed. I really enjoyed the illustration style, not to mention the story–somewhat outcast girl who’s been traumatized by a terrorist bombing bands up with other girls named Jane at her new suburban school. The Janes being doing random community art projects/statements around their town in the dead of night. Instead of the community appreciating the whimsy and beauty, town officials freak out and cry “vandalism!” and take stringent measures to stop the art from happening. I think, hope, that this is the first in a series, which is great, because I can’t wait to read more about the Janes and all that they do. By the way, this is a great graphic novel for people who don’t like graphic novels. I can’t see anyone not enjoying this!

7 thoughts on “The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci

  1. Seven hours? You could have driven from Newark to D.C. in about four hours! That’s
    from Newark, NJ. If you’re talking about flying from Newark, TX, then just forget everything
    I just said.

    :0)

    John

  2. That’s what made it so especially exasperating! I absolutely could have driven from my house to hotel in 3 1/2 hours. I thought I was being clever by not then having to pay exorbitant parking fees for 6 days. My lesson is learned!

  3. The parking fees are exorbitant. I’m not in D.C. all that often, but when I do go, I stay in Arlington, which has decent hotels with FREE parking and then just ride the Metro into town. Also, you did get to read The Plain Janes, so it wasn’t a total loss!

  4. Thanks for stopping by Heather! I really did like this, even though part of me can’t believe I spent $10 on a 20 minute read instead of being patient and waiting for it through the library!

  5. Pingback: Cecil Castellucci & Jim Rugg–The Plain Janes « I Just Read About That…

  6. Pingback: At the ALA Annual Conference « The Last Book I Read

Leave a comment