And I’m back!

Wow! What a busy, crazy, exhausting, exciting 6 days in Washington, D.C. Highlights include meeting Denise Fleming, Nick Hornby, Judy Blume, Markus Zusak, Marilyn Nelson, David Almond, and Ellen Wittlinger and listening to the amazing speeches given as the 2007 Printz Award and Honor award authors received their prizes, as well as 2007 Margaret A. Edwards winner, Lois Lowry. To be surrounded by such passion for literature in so many forms was very thrilling. Plus, I’m not too proud to admit, it was crazy exciting to meet the author of High Fidelity and About a Boy and Mr. Hornby was gracious enough to allow me a photo-op with him. (I think I don’t even need to say anything about meeting Judy Blume. Any woman of my age would have the same reaction-just trying hard not to gush in the presence of the author of Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret.) Also, while I missed Garrison Keillor’s closing session (to enjoy a much needed soul and brain enriching 25 minutes in the Museum of Natural History), I did bump into him in my hotel lobby, so that was cool.  He is very tall!  I did not have much time for reading while there, but picked up many new books, which I can’t wait to read.

Leave a Reply

