Bad Sister by Charise Mericle Harper

I love Harper’s Craft Cat books, but this one is different-based on her own life (so a memoir, like Real Friends or Smile). I had read in reviews that indeed she is a bad sister, so I was looking forward to finding out if that’s the case. And guess what? She is not kidding about being a bad sister!  You see all the awful things she does to her younger brother-outright mean, sometimes manipulative, sometimes lying. You do have a lot of sympathy for her though because sometimes it seems she just can’t manage her feelings and that’s why things happen and also some things really aren’t her fault. Also, it’s all interspersed with some great sibling bonding times. Very enjoyable. I did find myself wondering what her now grown up brother thinks of all this. Did he think she was a bad as she thought she was? I mean on the one hand it skews as kind of funny. But on the other hand it also feels (maybe this is a parental point of view) pretty sad to think of these two kids going through their childhoods the way they did.

Very appealing cover.

Leave a comment