Mosquitoland by David Arnold

mosquitoA solid YA novel with a road trip, mental illness, interesting characters picked up along the way, a possibly unreliable narrator, family drama and a lot of emotion. I liked this very much.
Mim is, well not running away, but off to find her mother who we don’t know too much about why she’s not there. Her journey begins on a Greyhound bus and just gets wilder and wilder.
I’m not convinced I loved the ending. Mim convinced me so much that I needed to hate her stepmother that I had a hard time coming around to her. On the other hand, I loved the resolution of the Walt, Beck, and Mim storyline. And as for Walt and Beck? Marvelous companions and characters with their own dramatic backstories.
I know I’ll be thinking about various parts of this for a few days.
In addition to the story content, I thought this was really well written. Great sentences, great structure.

Leave a Reply

