Strong Female Protagonist by Brennan Lee Mulligan

sfpI’ve had this on my to-read list for a really long time, but neither of the library systems we use had it. Last week while on vacation we went to Newbury Comics, they were having a buy 2 get 1 graphic novel sale, and I thought a-ha! I’m going to buy that book I’ve wanted to read! And I did. And it was worth it.

I really liked this a lot. It was clever and funny, interesting and charming. I wasn’t sure at first if, with the talk of “Guardians” and people all getting their powers from a global event, much to the alarm of the world I was supposed to think (or know) that it was part of some already familiar superhero universe (Agents of SHIELD, Guardians of the Galaxy.) In some ways it felt like this was a story that was already going on, but backstory nicely filled everything in, and I liked the way that was done. MegaGirl being a college student (or trying to be an ordinary one) reminded me of Squirrel Girl, and talk of registered superheros (or rather, people with changed biology) reminded me of The Incredibles, and especially the last episodes I watched of SHIELD (before I sadly gave up on it.)

All in all, a terrific graphic novel and I can’t wait to read more, which I will do by visiting strongfemaleprotagonist.com where I can read installments twice a week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

