We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

liarsI’ve had the best week in reading-three books in a row that I gave 5 stars to! And I can’t believe I waited so long to read this-I’ve had the prepub sitting around the house for a pretty long time but it wasn’t until three people told me I have to read it that I got going with it (I’d actually read the first chapter a while ago-why on earth did I put it down??)

I loved this. Lockhart is such a good writer (see: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks.) I didn’t know much about the book going in, which is what I like. So all I’ll say about the story is that it is told by Cady Sinclair, who comes from a wealthy (like, super wealthy) family and that every summer they all spend the summer together on their private island near Martha’s Vineyard. Yes, their own island where each daughter and family has their own house. The summers are idyllic for Cady and her cousins and Gad, a family friend who’s not quite a cousin so it’s ok for her to fall in love with him. But after their fifteenth summer something happens and by her 17th summer Cady is trying to remember and put the pieces together.

This was a great story, very emotional (I cried and cried), and wonderfully spun out.  I loved how she included fairy tales that Cady would tell based on traditional tales but with the twist of her own family’s history, and how those tales advance the story.
It was a very fast read, and once I got to the end I wanted to start over at the beginning so I could reread it. I didn’t, but I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the book since I finished it yesterday morning.

Leave a Reply

