Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright

thimbleI recently completed a quilt that I titled Thimble Summer because the fabrics were bright and summery and reminiscent of the 1930s, which made me think of this book. And so, of course, I had to get the book and read it as I hadn’t since I was a kid.  This won the Newbery Medal in 1939 and with wonderful reason. Seriously, I feel like Elizabeth Enright can do no wrong. I love her stories and can fully acknowledge that one of the reasons is because she paints a picture of idyllic childhood summers that I wish I had/wish my children would have.
My standout memory of this was that the little girls were all named after Jewels back then. The main character is Garnet, and her best friend is Citronella. Garnet’s family has a farm and she has a brother Jay, a little pig named Timmy that she raises, and happy days running about barefoot in the soft dust.  Other notable adventures include getting locked in the little town library, running away to the nearest town, and attending the county fair. I’ve gone ahead and ordered the audiobook of this because I want everyone in the family to hear it!

Leave a Reply

