The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

ravenI really liked Raven Boys and this was an eagerly anticipated sequel.  Unfortunately, I didn’t like it quite as much as the first.  I found it a bit confusing and vague and kept wondering if I was just not remembering enough details from the first book or what.  That said, I was still fascinated by how Stiefvater brought this ancient magic into a contemporary setting.  And the idea of bringing something out of a dream and having it be real is both fascinating and horrifying (depending on what your dreams are.) I find myself especially interested in finding out more about Blue’s psychic family and they are very entertainingly on display throughout this book. The visit to Gansey’s rich and connected parents’ home was kind of jarring.  And Ronan’s antagonist, who is a big part of the book, I found such a strange character. At times entertaining, but the whole drag racing thing was just kind meh to me.  The best addition to this installment was the character of Mr. Grey-a funny hit man with his own backstory.  You’ll notice I haven’t even said anything about plot. That’s because I doubt I could even describe it since it’s all still sort of vague to me. The boys continue to look for Glendower, the Welsh king, and to tamper with the ancient magic running beneath their town. Although not as great as the first, I did still like it, and I think Stiefvater’s writing is admirable. Looking forward to seeing how it all wraps up in book #3.

Leave a Reply

