The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen (Her Royal Spyness #6)

cluesSomewhere along the way I missed #5 in this series and just happened to see this one on the shelf of our little library. Out of order and out of season, but I had to grab it and read it. Once again Lady Georgiana Rannoch finds herself in the midst of a puzzling crime.  In this case it’s a suspicious death every day of her holiday.  Faced with nowhere to go except spending Christmas with her horrid sister in law, Fig, she answers and advertisement for a lady of good social standing to join a house party.  It turns out that the hostess, Lady Hawze-Gorsely, is having guests for a true old fashioned English village Christmas.  It’s very Clue-like, complete with a Colonel, what, what? Fewer details of her royal relatives in this installment, but the lovely details made such a vivid picture in my head of this British village and the time.  Georgie’s mother, grandfather, Noel Coward, and of course, her love interest, Darcy, all manage to happen to spending Christmas in the same little village, so the familiar characters are there.

I thought this was a splendid mystery, was fooled by a red herring, and was very satisfied with the ending. I also liked it that the author included traditional Christmas games and recipes at the end.  I must say, the meals described were wonderful and I can’t believe people weren’t fat as houses back then. Giant teas followed by sumptuous repasts at dinner!

2 thoughts on “The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen (Her Royal Spyness #6)

  1. This was the first one I couldn’t get through, sadly. For one thing, it bugged me that they threw around terms like “serial killer” — a term which did not exist until much more recently. I kept getting yanked out of the period, and since the period is a large part of the charm of these books, it distracted me too much to continue.

    Might be a nitpick but… writers need to do their research.

    • It’s funny you should say that because there was something else, which I don’t remember now, that when I read it I thought it was out of place, that it was a modern term or concept, too.

Leave a Reply

