Twice Upon a Marigold by Jean Ferris

twiceIt’s been many, many years since I read Once Upon a Marigold.  At the time I loved that and thought it was hilarious, funny, clever, and charming.  I used to recommend it all the time to kids.  Imagine my surprise to find out (via a friend’s Goodreads updates) that not only was there a sequel, but also a third book!

Even though it had been so long since I read the first book, Ferris easily caught me up to date and I’d even say that you could read this without having read the first book and still thoroughly enjoy it.  Just like the first one it’s funny and clever, mixing in anachronisms and fairy tale bits.  I think if you liked The Princess Bride you would like this very much. I was especially tickled by the attempt of a wizard to explain a new type of joke called a knock-knock joke.  In this sequel Christian and Marigold have been married for one year, enjoying peace and romance and being King and Queen.  The evil mother had vanished at the end of the first book, but it turns out she’d washed ashore in a little town and had amnesia.  When her memory returns she returns to the castle and is determined to take over again.  Hijinx ensue as Chris and Marigold attempt to rid themselves of her once and for all, before she executes the king.

Leave a Reply

