The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

husbandI read this a few weeks (yep, I’m behind again!) but I feel like I need to get this written up stat because I just opened the new Entertainment Weekly and see this made it to their must list. Which kind of makes me feel, bleah. I mean, good for Liane Moriarty for being super successful now, but I hate it when there is an author I like and stick with and then all of sudden everyone else is like “oh yeah, she’s so good” and liking her feels trendy. So, I’ve read all her books and really liked them, so when I got a prepub of this (and I could tell she was making it because she’s Australian and this book is coming out here at the same time and not a year or two later, as her others did) I decided to dive in and not even read the blurb or any descriptive information at all-just the title. I know most people probably don’t like to do that, but I do with an author I trust. I knew it would be a story that would be layered with different characters, that those characters’ voices would tell different sides of the same story and piece together to be a big overall picture. I knew that nothing would be tidily resolved, that no character would be 100% good or bad, and it would be a little messy, like real life.  And that is exactly what this story delivered. It was so engrossing, parts of it very sad and affecting, and I just loved it.  It gave me a lot to think about, and I enjoyed discussing it very much with my friend who also read it. So saying all of that, I’m not going to give any plot description at all in case you, too, are willing to take a chance and let a story play out on the pages with no preconceived ideas at all.Go ahead, take the chance! And take it quickly before she gets so trendy and popular that you have to wait through a big hold list at the library.

One thought on “The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

