French Milk by Lucy Knisley

frenchI didn’t love this as much as I’d hoped to. Also, when I got to the end and realized that it wasn’t on my reading challenge list (I thought it was) I was totally bummed. It’s a graphic novel memoir of a month and a half spent in Paris.  The author/subject is a college age girl who goes there with her mother.  It’s a great experience for them as they eat lots of interesting things (paté galore) and see lots of art.  I did enjoy reading about the things they saw and places they went, but didn’t feel there was anything especially compelling. Also, this might be terrible, but I really had no empathy for her 20something malaise-depression-boyfriend missing.  It’s very much a personal travel journal/diary, but neither her personal life nor her observations were interesting enough to make this a compelling read.

Leave a Reply

