There is No Dog by Meg Rosoff

It took me forever to read this. In part because I kept stopping to read other books for the challenge, and also because it just wasn’t holding my attention.  The premise of seeing the beings who are God, as well as the creators of other universes, is very funny and appealing to me.  I think I was hoping for something along the lines of The Second Greatest Story Ever Told by Gorman Bechard-one of my all time favorite books.  But alas, it was not.  God is actually a horny teenage boy who falls in love/lust with a mortal and doesn’t care about the earthly consequences.  Actually, he doesn’t much care about Earth at all-it’s his assistant who answers prayers, created whales, and actually cares about what happens.

I kept going because I was curious how the mess he created would all work out, but I didn’t find the ending very satisfying at all.  Rosoff is a really talented writer, but this was not a great example of her work.

Leave a Reply

