The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

I read about this over at Meg Says and thought sounded great, so I picked up a copy at the library within a couple of days. Well, I absolutely loved it. FIVE STARS loved it! Campbell is a teenager who’s been dying of cancer for a number of years. When we meet her we find out so many fascinating things that right away I thought, “why does she have to have cancer and I have to worry about her dying throughout the whole book? Her life at home would be interesting enough!” and that’s because she lives in Orlando and her family works at the Polynesian resort as fire twirlers and dancers.  Her dad was Samoan and her mom is a New York Italian who picked up the culture and dancing.  Cam’s dad died several years ago, so it’s just her, her mom, her younger half sister Perry (result of her mom’s fling with a Norway Epcot worker), and her mom’s Japanese (Epcot Japan) boyfriend. See? I’d keep reading about that alone.

But then the doctor’s say that Cam is on her last legs and there’s nothing more to do. Her mom can’t take that and a New Age friend of hers tells her about a town in Maine, very mystical, hard to find, miracles can happen there. Cam doesn’t believe in miracles, but her mom and sister do, so they pack up and move to Maine.  The little town they find indeed seems magical.  Very Northern Exposure-y.  There’s so much I’m leaving out, but you should just go out and read this book and enjoy the journey and the surprises along the way.

I really loved this story.  It was emotional, but not maudlin.  Funny, but not ridiculous.  Meaningful, but not trite or pithy.  Because it has a teenager with cancer protagonist it will likely inevitably be compared to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.  I really liked that book a lot, but I have to say that I liked this even better!

One thought on “The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

  1. I loved “The Fault in Our Stars,” so I’m definitely going to read “The Probability of Miracles” since you say it’s even better! I just put it in my queue at the public library.

Leave a Reply

