Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This book got a ton of hype last year, which I totally resisted, then when I did pick it up to read it I could not put it down. I absolutely loved it (5 stars!) There’s a sequel to look forward to, as well. This is a difficult book to categorize-it does have a supernatural element to it (angels, fallen angels, the devil?), but it’s not a lame-o Twilight book.

The heroine is a fascinating teenager living in Prague (which is also fascinating).  Turns out she’s been raised by some supernatural beings that she can always find, but no one else can.  Her father figure carer is a terrifying creature, but caring and nurturing to her and along with some others the only family she’s ever had. She does not know the specifics of his work, but the reader can tell it’s unsavory.

Things start happening around the world and it’s all very good and evil, fire and brimstone, questioning what she knows. Romance, adventure, mythology, religion-all wrapped up in a detailed, exciting package.

3 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. Five stars?! Yay! It’s funny because I’m in the same boat as the first line of this post. I knew how much this was hyped, all of the YA authors I follow on Twitter were raaaving about it, and yet I hadn’t picked it up yet! Something randomly reminded to check its availability at the library last weekend, and I was in luck. It’s on my desk right now and I plan to start it as soon as I finish the first Gregor the Overlander book!

    • I still haven’t read the Gregor the Overlander books. When they came I wasn’t interested, but I forget why. You’ll have to let me know if I need to add them to my list!

      • Okay! Yeah, my friends dad is a middle school history teacher and she said he loved them so I decided to FINALLY give them a chance. I’m hoping I enjoy them since there are several and I’ve kind of been in Suzanne Collins withdrawals. Though I do have to say I’m still in the beginning and the kids just rode a giant cockroach and that kind of (really!) creeps me out.

Leave a Reply

