What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

[Caveat: I’m trying to make good on my New Year’s Resolution and get caught up to speed on this blog. That means I’m writing about books I read months ago, my memory might be spotty, and I’m just going to jot down a few sentences.]

I can’t believe I didn’t write about this and seriously? I do not even remember which one this was. Though I’m sure I liked it a lot. Let’s see if I can jog my memory… oh right right right…. A girl named after a basketball player, her family is fanatical about it, her mom has an affair with the basketball coach, thus tainting her name and making it impossible for her and her father to continue living in the basketball obsessed town. And her mom goes and has twin babies with her new young husband.  I was definitely with McLean (the girl) on this one-I’m not so sure I would forgive the mother either.  McLean and her dad never stay in one place too long as his job is to swoop in and fix up failing restaurants.  She uses the opportunity to create a name and persona for herself in each place they live, but in this new place she decides to go with her real name.  It’s pretty standard Dessen-quirky characters, a girl so multi-faceted/deep/mature/funny that honestly I’m an adult and I feel inferior next to her, and a boy who falls for her. Oh, and a mature coming of age resolution.  Although I sound dismissive, this was a really good one.

Leave a Reply

