I Think I Love You by Allison Pearson

I cannot believe I haven’t written about this yet!! I read it two months ago (at least).  let me cobble together my comments about it from emails to friends…

I really, really, really liked it! I was suprised how much I liked it and it makes me think maybe I should have read I Don’t Know How She Does It.
It was surprisingly moving and engrossing and well written.

I was reading it at gymnastics class and literally gasped aloud when I read [a bunch of stuff here that I’ll leave out] Oh, that went straight to my heart.

Hmm…thought I had a lot more. Well, I thought this was going to be a somewhat cutesy book about a girl in the 70s idolizing David Cassidy and then growing up and meeting him.  I was so pleasantly surprised at how much more than that it was. First of all, the story is told in alternating points of view between the young teenaged girl who loves David Cassidy and memorizes everything there is to know about it from the David Cassidy fan magazine she reads and the young man with the English degree who has ended up working at a celebrity fan magazine writing letters from the point of view of David Cassidy.  Yep, he writes it, she reads it.  In this way you get two points of view of adolescence and idol worship and also just two good stories about two different people.   The story builds up to a big concert that the girl and her friends sneak out to go to.  At this point in the story it wraps up so wonderfully I thought it was over. But it wasn’t! Because then the story picks up again in present day with everyone all grown up.

I was really amazed at how well written I thought this was (why I didn’t think it would be I just don’t know) and what a good story it was.

Leave a Reply

