Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz

I’m sorry to say that yet again I’m writing well after I read something.  When I finished this book I was full of emotion and enthusiasm for it, and now two weeks later, I’m not sure I’ll be able to give many details or be at all persuasive about why it was so good.  This was a big hit this summer and I was late in the game in getting to it (though I did put my name on the hold list promptly, so the library queue was just very slow.)

OK, now it’s over a month later….

Fortunately this is fresh in mind because I was just talking about this with some friends over the weekend.  We all liked it and agreed that the insight into the admissions process was absolutely fascinating.  Portia is an admissions officer at Princeton University.  She is good at her job, committed to it, in a long term relationship that is not particularly exciting, but serves her well.  A visit to a progressive school that is about to graduate its first students combined with a change in her relationship serves as the catalyst for big changes in Portia’s life.  I really don’t want to say much more because I think part of the pleasure in this story is just seeing what unfolds.  I thought this was fabulously written and a good solid novel. I look forward to reading more by Ms. Korelitz!

Leave a Reply

