The Heart of Christmas by Mary Balogh, Nicola Cornick, and Courtney Milan

I’m a sucker for Christmas themed historical romances, so a few weeks ago while Christmas shopping at the bookstore I treated myself to this.  I love everything Mary Balogh writes, so that’s really what I was buying it for.  And indeed, her story was great.  A woman of genteely impoverished circumstances decides that she must prostitute herself to save her family.  She agrees to go away for a week (during Christmas)  with a duke who is looking for a last fling before settling down.  This was delightfully predictable-falling in love, showing she’s a lady, there is loads of Christmas joy and goodwill and it’s all very heartwarming.

The second story I didn’t care for as much.  As much as I love historical romances I’m a bit tired of all these characters who are “afraid to love” at the expense of refusing to acknowledge their obvious love for someone. It’s all just too absurd.

The third story must be saved until next Christmas (that’s right, Christmas was six days ago, so now I won’t read/watch Christmas things!).

It’s been a while since I read a nice historical romance and I almost forgot how much I like them.  I’ll have to get some more to read!

Leave a Reply

