The Guinea Pig Diaries by A.J. Jacobs

I gave this to Paul for Christmas and ended up reading it before him (because he was engrossed in another book I gave him.)  I have always felt that everyone should get a new book on Christmas Day that they want to jump right into. Christmas afternoon is for trying out newn games, dipping into your new books, wearing a new sweater.  I got him this because we had both enjoyed various essays he’s written for Esquire magazine and I thought he’d like.

The first three essays in the book we had already read in Esquire (he also contributes to Mental Floss due to his Know It All book/experiment), but they were fun to read again and had updates on what had happened since.  Each essay is about one of his wacky experiments in living: live by George Washington’s rules, unitask (I’m watching tv as I type this, so not unitasking),  outsource his personal life to Indian companies, practice Radical Truth, and so on.  It all sounds like load of fun and you find yourself wondering how you could get a job like that, but then you realize that he actually does loads of research, and works pretty hard at writing articles/essays/books.

Reading this made me really want to read his book about living a whole year Biblically (I just really like it that he thinks up these kooky experiments.)  He’s a clever, funny, writer and I liked that while his experiments are ludicrous and funny, he is thoughtful about them and has has truly tried to see how these things affected him and what he can learn from them.

2 thoughts on “The Guinea Pig Diaries by A.J. Jacobs

  1. I can’t wait to read this one! I’ve read both The Know It All and The Year of Living Biblically and loved them both (I also read The Unlikely Disciple, by Kevin Roose, who works for AJ- highly recommend that one too!).

  2. Pingback: Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection by A.J. Jacobs « The Last Book I Read

Leave a Reply

