Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

wintergirlsI am on a roll reading prepubs-this book isn’t due out until March of this year.  I was pretty excited to get it because I really like Anderson and I was all excited that she had won YALSA’s 2009 Margaret A. Edwards award.  When I opened it up though I felt a wee bit of disappointment upon realizing that it was an eating disorder book. Of all the problem novels, eating disorders are my least favorite.  BUT…what a surprise I was in for.  I think she has totally transcended eating disorder novels and written something very different and new.  In fact, more than an eating disorder novel, I would call this a novel about mental illness and grief. I was very surprised at a)how much I liked it and b)how much suspense there was in it–from wondering how her friend Cassie died to wondering whether or not Lia will actually survive. I found this very different from her other novels in terms of  both writing style and content and definitely liked it.

6 thoughts on “Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. Ooh, I’ll have to check that out! I admit, my initial reaction was the same as yours — not eating disorders! But she is an amazing writer, and I’ll read it based on your comments here.

    I adored her book Prom. I never expected a book about such a subject could be as profound as it ultimately was — but at the same time, vastly entertaining.

  2. This sounds absolutely amazing. Although I will admit to a certain fondness for eating disorder novels, having had eating issues of my own during my teen years. I was never anywhere near as bad as most YA characters get, but I’d see little bits and pieces of the way I thought in these characters. This sounds like such a powerful book, and I’m very much looking forward to reading it. 🙂

  3. Stephanie–the book should be arriving very shortly at your house! Interestingly I do not care so much for the eating disorder novels precisely because I have always battled with my own weight and did not like recognizing bits of myself in them. An opposite reaction from you!

  4. Thanks, Sarah! I cannot WAIT to read this. I will admit, it’s definitely uncomfortable to read those little bits of myself on the page, but after a lot of therapy and learning about myself, it’s an uncomfortable I can…I guess shake my head and wince at. Now, reading Jennifer Traig’s Devil In The Details, I laughed hysterically, noting a lot of my own mild OCD traits in her. (I think OCD and eating disorders go hand in hand quite often, unfortunately.) Thankfully, I’m much healthier and happier now than when I was younger.

    Is this going to be a book where I’ll need a box of Kleenex? I need to head to the store to buy toothpaste for my son tomorrow, so I can buy tissues while I’m out as well!

  5. Sarah- Just wanted to let you know I received this yesterday! Thank you SO SO SO much, and I was very touched by your card. I appreciate your generosity so very much. 🙂 I cannot wait to read this!!!!!

Leave a Reply

