Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

valentineI picked up this pre-pub quite eagerly as I’ve really enjoyed her books in the past. Plus it has an inviting cover.  I really enjoyed this newest story, which says it is the first in a trilogy.  I can’t imagine what two books might come next, unless the author is planning to have another book each about each of the sisters.  Like in her other novels this one focuses on an Italian-American family.  The culture, history, and characteristics of this group are a big part of the story.

Valentine is the only unmarried sibling in her family and it’s beginning to be a bit grating.  It’s not so much that she’s alone, it’s the way everyone treats her about it. She is more than happy to live with her 80 year old grandmother, sharing in the family business, and being apprenticed to her grandmother.  And this was the part of the story I really loved–the family business is making shoes!! Specifically, custom wedding shoes.  I just thought this was so unique and fascinating and while some readers might be bored by the shoe descriptions, I was not. In fact, there are many descriptions and details about all the fashions in the story, as well as food, and that’s just a winning combination for me.  So basically it’s a story about family, art, relationships, and self.  Does that sound vague? It’s not meant to be, I think it’s just how you’d describe most women’s fiction, which is the category I’d put this in. Also, since it’s a prepub I don’t want to give away too many details. Suffice it to say, I thought it was good, I enjoyed it.

huh. I just realized the book was released today, so I guess I could give away more if I felt like it. But I don’t. You wouldn’t want me to spoil it would you?

4 thoughts on “Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

  1. My Mom just picked this book up today from her library. She has read all of her books and has really enjoyed them. She told that her book “Big Stone Gap” is going to be a movie. I am reading “Lucia, Lucia” and I am liking it so far! I plan to proceed and read the others too!

  2. Curiously, in the book there is a mention of a movie called “Lucia, Lucia” being filmed. I didn’t remember enough of that book to know if it was meant to be it, or if the title was just a nod to her other book.

Leave a Reply

