And the winner is…

Yesterday I had the most tremendous thrill and honor of announcing YALSA’s 2009 award winning books and media (the Printz, Odyssey, Morris, and Margaret A. Edwards.) These announcements are made each January at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. As President of YALSA I got to make the YALSA announcements and this year emcee the press conference as well!

Which award did it give me the most pleasure to announce to a roomful of 500 or so librarians? Well, although the Printz is usually the one I am most excited about, this year it was the Edwards award I was most excited about. I was just so pleased with the committee’s choice of Laurie Halse Anderson as the recipient of the 2009 Margaret A. Edwards Award. This award honors an author who has made a significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The books specifically cited for Anderson are Speak, Fever 1793, and Catalyst. I think these books are incredible and have already established themselves firmly in the canon of ya literature (Speak is, in fact, a Printz honor book). She is a wonderful writer and I am so pleased that she has been recognized in this way.

Read more about all the awards at: www.ala.org/yma

2 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. WOW! What a huge honor to be able to announce the awards, that is just too cool. And I agree, I adore LHA. I can’t wait to read Winter Girls, I think her new one is called, when it comes out. I’m thrilled that she’s being honored with this award.

    What an awesome experience for you!!!

Leave a Reply

