The Next Thing On My List by Jill Smolinski

I read this before I left for vacation and am just getting around to writing about it. I saw this written about on a blog, but now I forget whose it was, apologies.  It sounded like a nice light possibly heartwarming book and happily it was checked in at the library so Paul was able to bring it home that night.

The premise is that a woman, June,  is in a car accident with another woman, Marissa, whom she has met at a Weight Watchers meeting.  June doesn’t know the younger woman, just that she’s recently lost 100 lbs.  In the accident Marissa dies and June finds a list in her purse of the things she’d hoped to accomplish before she turned 25.  Sadly, only “lose 100 lbs” and “wear sexy shoes” have been crossed off.  Feeling adrift herself and guilty as well, June decides to attempt to cross off all the things on Marissa’s list before Marissa’s birthday.

There is a bit of a love interest in this, but I wouldn’t call it a romance.  What I enjoyed about it was that it was not a heavy handed you might die tomorrow and then what? type of book.  It was very humorous in places, moved right along, and I felt warmly towards the characters. One of the nice things is how respectful June is of Marissa. I’d recommend this as a shorter lighter book for fans of Marian Keyes.

(oops–I thought I clicked publish on this but apparently I didn’t, so I’m putting it up now!)

3 thoughts on “The Next Thing On My List by Jill Smolinski

  1. Hi:
    This was on my blog – and I loved this book! It made me want to make my own list. I also liked that it was light yet meaningful. Glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

