Bedknob and Broomstick by Mary Norton

(I just took a look at how many drafts I have. I need to get cracking!)

So this title was most familiar to me as the Disney movie.  It was extremely popular at the library and, knowing nothing about it, I thought it seemed weird and unappealing.  I also thought it was BedknobS and BroomstickS, plural.  Well, it’ s not. It’s one of each.  Paul brought the book home for me and I decided to give it a try.

It was charming! I am sorry for my nine year old self that I didn’t read it at that time because I’m sure I would have especially enjoyed it then.

In brief, 3 children meet a witch in training who gives them the ability to go wherever they want by turning a bedknob and traveling there instantly via the bed.  My only disappointment with the story was that I assumed the book would be chronicling all the places they go, when in fact they only go two places.  The secand half of the story permits them to travel through time.  A lovely old fashioned story, complete with cannibal savages for a little adventure. It reminds me of Half Magic and would be a good suggestion for fans of those type stories.

*a quick look at Amazon shows the reason I thought this story was called Bedknobs and Broomsticks, plural, is because that was what the movie was called.

5 thoughts on “Bedknob and Broomstick by Mary Norton

  1. I’d always heard of this title but only saw the diisney film recently (with my four-year-old). It was pretty silly. I hope the book is better; I’d like to read it to her someday.

  2. Bedknob and Broomstick is a combined edition of two books by Mary Norton: The Magic Bedknob and Bonfires and Broomsticks. Its worthwhile getting hold of the original two books because Norton (or an editor) did some condensing and cutting when the combined edition was created, and in my opinion hurt the story. The two separate books are still available in the UK.

Leave a Reply

