Private by Kate Brian (Private Series, Book #1)

A kindly commenter suggested these books to me and I’ve just finished the first one.  I don’t know how I managed to miss this series when it came out as it is all about a misfit at an exclusive snotty boarding school.  Honestly, I love these boarding school books, but I’m a bit convinced now that they are filled with elitist cruel snobs! Unbelievably, Reed longs to be a part of this world.  She has been accepted as a scholarship student to exclusive Easton Academy.  She leaves behind a nightmare of a mother and a town that holds no future for her.  You can hardly blame her for wanting to escape and go to this brighter world, especially as she’s a good student.  However, you, Kind Reader, can certainly blame her for wanting to be a part of the “Billings House girls”-a super elite group who are really just awful and manipulative.  They are unbelievably perfect (except for personality and ethics!)-a genius, a model, etc. Reed will, sadly, do anything to try to get them to like her.  They know this and jerk her around so much it hurts to see.  Believe me, though, I will be getting the next books in the series to find out what happens to her!  This is sort of a light and fluffy version of Curtis Sittenfeld’s great book, Prep.

8 thoughts on “Private by Kate Brian (Private Series, Book #1)

  1. Hi,
    I found your guest post on Books on the Brain and thought I’d stop by.
    Private sounds like a TBR add-on for me. I’ve read Prep as well.

    It sounds as though this main character is similar to the Jenny Humphrey character on Gossip Girl.

    What age range would you say Private would be appropriate for? I have a niece who is 12.

  2. Private includes girls having sex, but no details of it. Also, someone deals drugs, but again no details. There’s a bit of heavy drinking, too. So….depends how mature your niece is. I would probably be more comfortable giving it to a 13/14 year old. Someone just pointed me to another boarding school book–Jellicoe Road, which I can’t wait to read.

  3. To 01crazymomma,
    Sarah just told you that the book should be rated for a 13 year old because it contains sex, drugs and ‘heavy’ drinking. lol. I know that 13 is a very susceptible age. most parents do NOT have a understanding of how mature our children are at that age.
    I suggest all teen books should have a back cover standardized rating system. For now we parents have to stand in Chapters or Borders and physically read parts of the book to get an idea of content.
    Laurence in Canada

  4. Laurence, a standardized rating system would never work exactly because everyone’s values and standards are different. Standing in Chapter reading parts of the book is being a good parent, it lets you and your child decide if a book is appropriate for you family. What is fine for some kids is not ok for others.

  5. Sarah,
    Just out of curiosity, have you had the chance to read the rest of the series? I got the eight, “Revelation” last night and can’t wait to start it!
    Kat in NC

  6. I just finished reading this book last night and I am 13. It was pretty good, you just have to remember along the way not to take things so seriously, like the girls’ personalities and all of that rule-breaking they do. Nobody under the age of 13 should be reading this book in my opinion, but the ending was a cliff-hanger so I definitely want to get and read the next one.

  7. ohh my i just read this book and it is so amazing, theirs another part to it? frigg mann i was wondering why it ended so weird, and i was lke thinking, why didnt it say where thomas wnet? it just said he was gone i was like wtf, and awee i almost cried on the part at the fire when he put her up to the tree and did that and then he started yelling at her, and suppoibly tripped her over the rock, omg i love this book so much that imgunna read it again again and again its just that good, and im just so into it.

Leave a Reply

