Philippa Fisher’s Fairy Godsister by Liz Kessler

Another prepub, this isn’t coming out until September 2008.  Kessler is the author of the Emily Windsnap books, which are about a mermaid. Here she turns her attention to fairies.  Clearly this author knows what dreamy imaginative girls with their heads in the clouds like.  If I was 10 or 11 I’d be gobbling these up.  In fact, I’m 36 and I still loved it.  And read with a gleeful belief that somehow all the fairy information she was giving me is true. (“Fairies have special cell phones? Who knew?!”) Like in the Artemis Fowl books there is a fairy hierarchy with clever bureaucratic abbreviations, which emphasize that the fairies are doing jobs.

I enjoyed this very much and think it will definitely have a sequel or two. The plot was fairly obvious, as was the resolution, but I think kids will still enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Philippa Fisher’s Fairy Godsister by Liz Kessler

Leave a Reply

