Belong to Me by Marisa de lost Santos

I chose this as this month’s book club selection not really realizing that apparently it’s currently hugely popular, and also hugely popular with reading clubs. oh well. Well deserved though. There’s so much to talk about in this that I’m really looking forward to discussing it with my friends. I had wanted to read this book because it’s by the author of Love Walked In, a book I had read some time ago and really enjoyed. I didn’t even realize that this book is a sequel! I guess I didn’t remember that much about the first book so when I started reading this the main characters named sounded vaguely familiar but I still wasn’t quite sure. So, although it is a sequel it is completely stand alone.

Cornelia and Teo have moved to the suburbs of Philadelphia into a nice little neighborhood where people walk to their neighbors’ houses.  Cornelia feels like an outcast, especially when she meets nasty suburban Queen Been, Piper.  I’m not sure how I feel about the fact that when you read the first chapter, from Cornelia’s point of view, you hate Piper. She’s clearly a nasty bitch and you, the reader, are eager to be on Cornelia’s side.  And then you get to the next chapter from Piper’s point of view and of course find out she’s human and develop sympathy for her despite yourself.  There’s definitely an awful lot going on here: Piper has a best friend, Elizabeth, who is dying. Cornelia has a new friend, Lake, who has moved to the area possibly under interesting circumstances.  At least that’s what her genius son, Dev, thinks. Dev and Lake become friends with Cornelia and Claire, Cornelia’s special friend from Love Walked In.  There are many relationships here, all a little complicated, and they all connect in some way.  I thought it was great, loved how much there was to consider.  There are many points of view, which made it an easy book to put down at the end of a chapter (see, that’s good for me.) I hope my friends liked it as much as I did!

One thought on “Belong to Me by Marisa de lost Santos

  1. Hi there. Sounds like an interesting book.. I’ve been seeing it around a lot lately!

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a guest post on my blog about your book club. I have a whole series of posts called “In Praise of Book Clubs” that other bloggers have written. Basically they’ve written about what makes their book club special or unique, or why they like their book club. Take a look and if you’d like to add your thoughts, let me know! My email is lisamunley AT ca DOT rr DOT com.

Leave a Reply

