Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott

I was excited to come across this because I remembered that I really really enjoyed Scott‘s previous book, Bloom. Off the top of my head I couldn’t tell you a thing about it except that I remember it was romantic. This book is also romantic, and I enjoyed the relationship between the two main characters. Will is a a boy known for hooking up with lots of girls and he is widely acknowledged to be super cute, deifnitely out of Kate’s league. He does like her, though, and they keep hooking up. To the reader it’s obvious that he sincerely likes Kate, so it is a little frustrating that she has such a hard time accepting it.

The strongest and most compelling part of the story (to me) was the failed relationship between Kate and her best friend, Anna. They had been best friends since they were little, but all that changed when Anna went away one summer and lost a lot of weight. Suddenly she is popular, dating the boy who called her “wide load” a mere 6 months earlier, and completely ignoring Kate. Her treatment of Kate is so terrible I found it quite heartbreaking. I couldn’t believe how outraged I was with Anna and how sad I felt for Kate. Poor Kate really could use a friends too because not only does she need someone to talk to about Will, but she needs someone to help her cope with her dad’s behavior. He has decided to “follow his dream” by quitting his job to sell vitamins at mall and he makes Kate work there, too. His rash decision puts his family in severe financial jeopardy and makes the family start to fall apart.

Although all these things are dreadfully sad Scott writes with a wonderful humor throughout the novel. I loved this and can’t wait to read her next book.

One thought on “Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott

Leave a Reply

