Countdown to the Printz!

and Newbery and Caldecott and Alex and MAE Awards!

I’m off to the ALA Midwinter Conference in Philadelphia tomorrow.  I’m sure I will return with a long list of books to read and hopefully a handful of prepubs, too.  Nothing gets me more excited about reading and literature and books and authors and people reading than attending these conferences.  This one will be a busy one with lots and lots of meetings, but I know I’ll leave feeling excited all over again about librarianship and the many ways in which people and books are brought together.

The highlight of the conference will be Monday morning–the Youth Media Awards press conference.  This is when the highest awards in children’s and young adult literature are announced.  I have no idea what could possibly be a winner this year, so I’m not even going to guess.

You can watch a live webcast of the press conference or, if you can bear to wait (not long really, they post them online ever so quickly plus I’m sure tons of people are going to immediately blog the results) you can just go to www.ala.org

Not sure what all those awards are for? Check out YALSA’s book awards and  ALSC’s book awards pages.

Leave a Reply

