The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

I was delighted with this newest selection for our book club–I’ve read many Alice Hoffman books in the past and liked them and, as it turns out, I had read this one before. Curiously, I didn’t remember what happened in the book, just remembered as I read along. Hoffman’s books always have some magical type quality to them and that’s one of the things I like about them.

This novel encompasses three stories tangled together: a woman’s belief that she can make people die by wishing it (stemming from her mother’s death); the woman getting struck by lightning; and the woman’s brother being terminally ill. Although I liked it very much the third story really felt like such a different story and seemed to come out of nowhere. Up until that point I thought it was just the story of the first two things I mentioned.

So, I thought I’d have more to say about this but I finished this a week ago and forgot to write the post, so it’s already a little removed from my memory, plus the baby is crying. So, if you like Hoffman don’t miss out on this one. If you’re looking for a book to read that’s a good story with nice writing style that’s a little bit, while not magical but certainly plays with what we believe to be true, then give this a try.

p.s. the information (because I choose to believe Hoffman did good research and it’s all true) about lightning strike effects is fascinating!!

Leave a Reply

