A break, but not from books

I’m off to the annual American Library Association conference today, so will not be posting for almost a week most likely (damn! why don’t I have a laptop yet???) But that is not to say I won’t be reading. I just finished my Maeve Binchy book and am only going to bring with me Plain Janes for the airplane. Once I get to D.C. it will be a wonderful whirlwind of book overload. The exhibits portion of the conference will have publishers from all over distributing advance reading copies of books. I never leave ALA without bringing home many new books to read, along with lists of books I can’t wait to get my hands on. The conference is always very exciting–it’s wonderful to be with 13,000 other librarians, to get to know new people, reconnect with old friends, and leave feeling reinvigorated about the jobs we do and the connections that are made through libraries and literature.

2 thoughts on “A break, but not from books

  1. HI! Just found your blog–what a breath of fresh air! I am currently recruiting children’s and YA books/authors for the Arkansas Literary Festival. Any suggestions for “what’s hot” for winter/spring 2007/2008?

  2. Glad you like it! I wish I had some suggestions for your festival. My best thought is too contact a few publishers and see who they’d like to promote. Everyone loves hearing authors speak, especially if they get to meet them, so even if it’s a new author it’s typically still pretty cool. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

