Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist by Liz Kessler

Emily is fortunate enough to be half mermaid-half human. She discovered this two books ago in The Tail of Emily Windsnap. Apparently there is a second book, but my friend Vicky says not waste one’s time with it. Fortunately, this third book is a nice continuation of Emily’s mer-adventures. This is a short chapter book, good for perhaps 4th/5th grade; I easily finished it in a short time last night.

As a child I loved to imagine myself as a mermaid and I think this book really hits on all the things one might imagine about a mermaid’s life, which is what makes it so good for girls. Emily attends mer-school, where they have lessons in “Beauty & Deportment”, they adorn their scaly tails with scale polish, they have lovely hair, they swim amongst beautiful fish, etc, etc. In this adventure Emily finds a ring that angry King Neptune had thrown away 500 years ago. By recovering it Emily invokes the king’s wrath and is cursed to no longer be half and half, but will be assigned one final form. Of course it all works out very neatly in the end. My one quibble would be that I think King Neptune is portrayed as a big baby with an unreasonable temper, but I believe in legend he is fairly temperamental, so perhaps Kessler is just being true to that.

3 thoughts on “Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist by Liz Kessler

  1. your books are alsome. i think that you should make another book. they are alsom. i am sooooooooooooooo in to the books. i want to comes next with emily and aaron!!!!!!!!!!!! plz wright another book?

  2. i love this book i think it should have 5 stars. i read it at my school library and i thought it was great. i read all of the books and i hope they start a new book soon. who ever wrote it please write another one.skystars1290@ yahoo.com email me

  3. I just finish reading this book not to long ago, and I agree with you. I just got my friend Amanda up into the series also. My 5th grade teacher’s daughter just happens to read the same books as me and coincedentally this series is one of them she also agrees the Emily Windnap series is wonderfully, heartfelt and entertaining. We all think that Liz Kessler should continue on with Emily’s fin-flipping adventures!! Also, Phillipa Fisher’s Fairy Godsister was also a truly favoring book.

    XOXO
    Bluie (Very blue loving!)

    8D

Leave a Reply

