Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

duchessEloisa James is one of my very favorite romance authors and she posts a lot on Facebook.  Via that I knew that she was doing a joint tour for a little while with Tessa Dare and that they are author buddies. Thus, a couple weeks before we went on vacation I picked up Any Duchess Will Do at the bookstore to bring to the beach with me.  I figured if Eloisa likes her she must be good and similar, and indeed she is. I was delighted to find out halfway through that this is #4 in a loose series, Spindle Cove.  So now I get to go read the other ones!

This was delightful and perfectly fit into the genre, meeting all my expectations.  Pauline is a lowly servant girl in the little village of Spindle Cove. She has an abusive father and a “simple” sister, a taste for poetry, and dreams of opening a lending library.  Griffin is a duke with a mother who is eager for him to be married. To that end she drugs him, whisks him off to Spindle Cove, and demands he choose a bride.  They are both stubborn people and in a fit to win this battle Griff chooses the most unduchlesslike woman he can find-Pauline.  Caught in the middle of this mother and son Pauline agrees to go to London with them for 1000 pounds-enough money that she can then return and open her bookshop.  The mother is determined to make Pauline a society worthy duchess by the end of the week, but Griff is paying Pauline to be a failure so that his mother will get off her back.  One of the things I liked about this was the mother.  She is really just pining for a grandchild to adore and she loves her son dearly.  Griff is hiding a painful secret that is affecting all of these decisions.

This was definitely a bit steamier than the romances  I usually read and all the characters have unbelievable stamina.  I hope there is a Mr. Dare to benefit from Tessa’s imagination and passion!

3 thoughts on “Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

  1. I just discovered Georgette Heyer last week – you might want to check her out if you’re into regency romance. She’s no Jane Austen but about as close as you’ll find. She’s known for having exhaustively researched the period her books are set in and they’re fun to read. I’m not super familiar with adult authors so didn’t know about her.

    • Ahh….Georgette. Yes, she’s considered the epitome of the Regency romance. My friend Mary Lynn loves her but my shameful secret is that I’ve never read one of hers all the way through! Perhaps I’ll try again this summer. I really do love the Regency details.

    • Ahh….Georgette. Yes, she’s considered the epitome of the Regency romance. My friend Mary Lynn loves her but my shameful secret is that I’ve never read one of hers all the way through! Perhaps I’ll try again this summer. I really do love the Regency details.

Leave a Reply

